ILLINOIS STATE POLICE MERIT BOARD

MINUTES

SPECIAL BOARD MEETING – March 12, 2021

Due to the Gubernatorial Disaster Proclamation issued by Governor Pritzker on January 8, 2021, and in accordance with Executive Orders 2020-07, 2020-33, 2020-44, 2021-05, and section 7(e) of the Illinois Open Meetings Act (as amended by Public Act 101-0640), Chairman Reeve Waud determined that an in-person meeting is not practical or prudent due to the public health disaster caused by Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19). The meeting was held by video/audio conference in accordance with the provisions of Executive Orders 2020-07, 2020-33, 2020-44, 2021-05, and section 7(e) of the Open Meetings Act (as amended by Public Act 101-0640).

Guests were invited to attend the meeting in person at the office of the Illinois State Police Merit Board, 531 Sangamon Avenue East, Springfield, Illinois, or via telephone conference at: +1 312 626 6799, Meeting ID: 990 0417 1432.

Illinois State Police Merit Board Chairman Reeve Waud; Board Secretary James Riley; Board Member Andrew Berlin; Board Member Nancy Maldonado; Board Member E.L. Warren and Executive Director Jack Garcia attended the meeting via videoconference. State Police Merit Board Legal Counsel Daniel Dykstra; and Program Director Emily Fox attended the meeting at the State Police Merit Board Office.

Also in attendance by telephone conference was: ISP Lieutenant Anthony Kestner, FOP Command Council Captain Sean Brannon, and private resident John Rallo,.

Board Chairman Reeve Waud opened the meeting at 4:30 PM.

Chairman Waud asked the Board Members to introduce themselves.

The Board voted unanimously to go into closed session by roll call vote.

The Board discussed personnel matters.

The Board voted unanimously to go out of closed session and return to open session by roll call vote.

The Board voted unanimously to make Andrew Berlin the Chairperson of the State Police Merit Board for the remainder of the current term in the event Chairman Reeve Waud's term expires or he is replaced.

The Board voted unanimously to make Emily Fox the Acting Executive Director of the Merit Board in the event Director Jack Garcia no longer serves as the Executive Director by roll call vote.

The Board voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting by roll call vote.

James V. Riley, Secretary