ILLINOIS STATE POLICE MERIT BOARD

MINUTES

SPECIAL BOARD MEETING – June 26, 2020

Due to the Gubernatorial Disaster Proclamation issued by Governor Pritzker on May 29, 2020, and in accordance with Executive Orders 2020-07, 2020-39, and section 7(e) of the Illinois Open Meetings Act (as amended by Public Act 101-0640), Chairman Reeve Waud has determined that an in-person meeting was not practical or prudent due to the public health disaster caused by Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19). The meeting was held by video/audio conference in accordance with the provisions of Executive Orders 2020-07, 2020-39, and section 7(e) of the Open Meetings Act (as amended by Public Act 101-0640).

Guests were invited to attend the meeting in person at the office of the Illinois State Police Merit Board, 531 Sangamon Avenue East, Springfield, Illinois, or via telephone conference at: +1 312 626 6799 Meeting ID: 930 0533 5116.

Illinois State Police Merit Board Chairman Reeve Waud; Board Secretary James Riley; Andrew Berlin, Board Member; Nancy Maldonado, Board Member and Board Member E.L. Warren attended the meeting via telephone conference. Daniel Dykstra, Chief Legal Counsel; and Emily Fox, Program Director attended the meeting at the State Police Merit Board Office.

Board Chairman Reeve Waud opened the meeting at 1:15 PM.

Chairman Waud asked the Board Members to introduce themselves.

The Board voted to go into closed session.

The Board discussed personnel matters.

The Board voted to go out of closed session and return to open session.

The Board decided based on the presentation of the Oral Report provided by McGuireWoods and its findings to reinstate Jack S. Garcia as the Executive Director effective immediately.

The Board voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting.

James V. Riley, Secretary