ILLINOIS STATE POLICE MERIT BOARD

MINUTES

3rd QUARTER BOARD MEETING – July 21, 2020

Due to the Gubernatorial Disaster Proclamation issued by Governor Pritzker on June 26, 2020, and in accordance with Executive Orders 2020-07, 2020-33, 2020-44, and section 7(e) of the Illinois Open Meetings Act (as amended by Public Act 101-0640), Chairman Reeve Waud has determined that an inperson meeting is not practical or prudent due to the public health disaster caused by Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19). The meeting will be held by video/audio conference in accordance with the provisions of Executive Orders 2020-07, 2020-33, 2020-44, and section 7(e) of the Open Meetings Act (as amended by Public Act 101-0640).

Guests were invited to attend the meeting in person at the office of the Illinois State Police Merit Board, 531 Sangamon Avenue East, Springfield, Illinois, or via telephone conference at: +1 312 626 6799 Meeting ID: 926 9021 6119.

Illinois State Police Merit Board Chairman Reeve Waud; Board Secretary James Riley; Board Member Andrew Berlin; Board Member Nancy Maldonado, Board Member E.L. Warren attended the meeting via video phone conference. Executive Director Jack S. Garcia, Chief Legal Counsel Daniel Dykstra; and Program Director Emily Fox attended the meeting at the State Police Merit Board Office.

Also in attendance by telephone conference were: Colonel Sean Cormier, ISP Forensics, Colonel Jamal Simington, ISP Division of Internal Investigations; First Deputy Directory Felix Canizares, ISP Office of the Director; Lieutenant Colonel Marcus Gipson, ISP Division of Internal Investigations, Yvette Loizon, ISP Chief Legal Counsel; Lieutenant Colonel Akil Smith, ISP Division of Academy; Lieutenant Juan Valenzuela, HISLEA; Nicholas Kondelis, ISP Legal Counsel; Lieutenant Colonel Christopher Owen, ISP Division of Patrol; Lieutenant Sean Brannon, FOP Command Council; Attorney Bruce Bialorucki, Trooper's Lodge; Melissa Brandenburg, Office of Executive Inspector General; Tiffany Pryor-Wallace, Office of Executive Inspector General; Travis Howard, Office of Executive Inspector General; Nichole Cheney, Teamsters; Master Sergeant Hector Alejandre, ISP Division of Academy; Trooper Dwayne Jennings, ISP; Master Sergeant Jason Holt, Teamsters. Elizabeth Leahy, ISP Deputy Chief Legal Counsel attended the meeting in-person.

The meeting was held at the Illinois State Police Merit Board Office, 531 Sangamon Avenue East, Springfield, Illinois.

Board Chairman Reeve Waud opened the meeting at 9:00 AM.

Chairman Waud asked the Board Members to introduce themselves.

The Board voted unanimously by roll call vote to approve the following meeting minutes: January 7, 2020, – 1st Quarter Board Meeting, February 4, 2020 – Emergency Board Meeting and June 26, 2020 – Special Board Meeting.

Emily Fox updated the Board on the Applicant Process On Thursday, June 18, 2020, a total of 89 applicants were certified to Cadet Class 132. Cadet Class 132 is set to begin on Sunday, October 2, 2020.

Cadet Class 133 is tentatively scheduled to begin during in spring of 2021. Depending on the interest of Fast Track eligible candidates, Cadet Class 133 may be a Fast Track Class. A total of 197 applicants who successfully completed the Recruitment Exam have been invited to participate in a PFIT July 27th-30th at the ISP Academy in Springfield. We are not currently conducting any recruitment testing due to COVID-19 testing center closures but working on a potential resolution.

Emily Fox updated the Board on the 2019 Promotional Process. Testing for the 2020 Promotional Process to the rank of Sergeant will be held on Tuesday, September 8 – statewide; and testing to the rank of Master Sergeant will Testing will be held the week of September 21-25 at the State Police Merit Board Office. The Promotional Test Reading List was posted on the Merit Board's website on April 1, 2020. The 2020 Promotional Test Sign-Up will close on Friday, July 31, 2020.

The Board voted to go into closed session by roll call vote.

The Board discussed the Joint Motion for a Decision of the Board in the Trooper Dwayne Jennings matter.

The Board discussed Respondent's Motion to Dismiss in the Master Sergeant Macharia Fortson matter.

The Board discussed the Petition for Review in the Trooper Tomasz Chlebowicz matter.

The Board discussed the discipline of Jenny Thornley following independent investigation.

The Board discussed personnel matters.

Emily Fox updated the Board on the Discipline Report.

The Board discussed keeping the January 7, 2020, February 4, 2020, and June 26, 2020, meeting minutes confidential.

The Board voted unanimously to go out of closed session and return to open session by roll call vote.

The Board voted unanimously to deny the Joint Motion for a Decision in the Trooper Dwayne Jennings matter by roll call vote.

The Board voted unanimously to deny the Motion to Dismiss in the Master Sergeant Macharia Fortson matter by roll call vote.

The Board voted unanimously to dismiss the Petition for Review in the Trooper Tomasz Chlebowicz matter by roll call vote.

The Illinois State Police Merit Board began an internal investigation into Merit Board employee Jenny Thornley for theft of time and other related misconduct in December, 2019. As the investigation was concluding, Ms. Thornley made allegations of misconduct by other Merit Board employees. Due to those allegations, the Merit Board engaged Christina Egan of the law firm McGuireWoods to conduct an independent investigation into Ms. Thornley's theft of time as well as other allegations. The Merit Board received a final written report from Ms. Egan on July 19, 2020, and all Board Members had the opportunity to review the findings of that report.

Based on the findings of the independent investigation, the Board voted unanimously to terminate Jenny Thornley from employment with the State Police Merit Board by roll call vote.

The Board voted unanimously to keep the January 7, 2020, closed meeting minutes confidential by roll call vote.

The Board voted unanimously to keep the February 4, 2020, closed meeting minutes confidential by roll call vote.

The Board voted unanimously to keep the June 26, 2020, closed meeting minutes confidential by roll call vote.

Reeve Waud was nominated as Chairman of the State Police Merit Board.

The Board voted unanimously to elect Reeve Waud as the Chairman of the Board by roll call vote.

Jim Riley was nominated as the Secretary of the State Police Merit Board.

The Board voted unanimously to elect Jim Riley as the Secretary of the Board by roll call vote.

The Board voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting by roll call vote.

James V. Riley, Secretary